Hydrate! Dry Skin Saviors

dryskinsaviours

My skin hates the winter. I hate the winter. If I was given the opportunity to move to Australia, I would be there in a flash! Alas I live in good old cold England so I make sure I have an arsenal of rehydrating products at the ready to make sure my skin is kept happy.  Here are my top picks for keeping your skin hydrated…

Vichy Nutrilogie 2 Moisturiser

This is a brilliant moisturiser for any one who suffers with dry skin. According to Vichy, dry skin lacks lipids and this moisturiser allows the skin to start creating its own lipids, resulting in 24 hours of comfort for dry skin. It’s also enriched with Vichy Thermal Spa Water. It’s quite a heavy cream, consistency feeling somewhere between a heavy moisturiser and a balm. I tend to use this just in the evenings, although I’ve heard it makes a great make-up primer.

Neals Yard Remedies Rosehip Oil £17.25

I had super sensitive skin last year when the cold weather kicked in, suddenly my skin reacted to even the most sensitive of cleansers and moisturisers, I was like a mad women in boots trying to find something my skin agreed with! I armed myself with Cetaphil cleanser and NYR rosehip oil and within no time my skin was back to normal. Rosehip oil is full of essential fatty acids, high in Vitamin C and A (retinol) which is key to the repair of skin tissue, and therefore great for reducing the appearance of scarring. I use this neat on my face about once a week, or just a few drops added to my daily moisturiser. One small warning with this one, make sure you don’t apply it too close to your eyes, it can make mine a little sensitive!

Eucerin Aquaphor Soothing Skin Balm £8.50

This is fragrance free, has no colourants or preservatives so its perfect for  sensitive, irritated skin. It’s a very thick clear balm, great for soothing and rehydrating extremely dry patches of skin, even cracked skin. My hands go horribly dry in the winter months, I slather this on before bed and viola! The next morning my hands are back to their 23-year-old self! It also supposed to be very good for anyone who exercises and is prone to blisters, it gets rid of any friction between you and your trainers.

Suvana Paw Paw and Honey Balm £5.95

 I picked this up when I was in Australia last year, it’s a lot like Lucas’ Paw Paw balm, only better! Suvana is 100% organic and free of petrochemicals, and made without any preservatives, chemicals or fragrances. It also contains more pawpaw than the Lucas version, the ointment contains 42mg/gm of fresh fermented pawpaw compared to 39mg/gm. I use this as a lip balm, it’s apparently also great for babies too, helping heal cradle cap and nappy rash.

Elizabeth Arden Eight Hour Skin Protectant Cream £25

Eight Hour Cream, the ultimate balm for dry skin. This is a must have for everyone, dry skin or not. Great for soothing dry lips, cuticles, burns and grazes. There’s also a fragrance free version for people who aren’t too sure on the scent. Elizabeth Arden used to use this to soothe her thoroughbred horses’ legs, I however prefer to stick to using it on my face…! If my skins in need of a drink, I slather it on my face before bed and let it do its magic overnight. Its well worth the £25 price tag, it should last you a year or longer.

Are there any products you swear by for healing dry skin?

parisalmablogheader1.jpg

4 thoughts on “Hydrate! Dry Skin Saviors

  1. I love 8 hour cream too! Also a big fan of the clarins blue orchid face treatment oil. Have you tried that?

Leave a Reply

