The French Pharmacy

The French Pharmacy Must Haves

Ahh the wonders of the French pharmacy, I could happily spend hours browsing all the different skin care products. Unfortunately I haven’t been to Paris this year, but my lovely parents went a couple of week ago and I cheekily sent my mum with a long list of  products that I wanted needed MUST HAVE in my bathroom!

So here goes my reviews of the French Holy Grails…

Bioderma Crealine H2O Micellar Solution €13

I’m sure nearly every beauty blogger under the sun has reviewed this by now, but it really is a holy grail product. It’s an excellent unfragranced make-up remover that removes absolutely all traces of make-up, meaning that you don’t have the trouble of looking like a sad panda before you cleanse. I have quite sensitive skin, especially in the winter months, and this is soothing on the skin, doesn’t sting the eyes and leaves the skin feeling supple not taut. This is the first product I use in the evenings, I wipe this over my face with a cotton wool pad then cleanse, tone and moisturise.

If you aren’t going to France in the near future, there are quite a few shops on eBay that sell it or I believe the new beautyMART in Harvey Nichols stocks it. I’ve linked a online French Pharmacy that ships to the UK.

Nuxe Reve de Miel Ultra Nourishing Lipbalm £9.50

This wasn’t actually on the list of products that I have given my mum, this was a extra treat! A very wonderful extra treat! I’ve never tried any of the Nuxe products before, but after trying this lip balm I’m thinking of ordering the travel kit from Feel Unique so that I can test them out.

The lip balm is not glossy, more of a semi-matte finish and feels ultra hydrating and nourishing. It’s lightly scented of honey and lemon, not too overpowering like some lip balms can be. I also use this over some of my MAC lipsticks if they are a bit too matte.

Embyolisse Lait-Creme Concentre £17.50

To me this is the perfect moisturiser, not too heavy, not too light. Perfect. I’m very fussy with my moisturisers, I don’t particularly like them sinking in instantly, I like my skin to feel dewy and hydrated. This has a light fresh ‘french’ fragrance, I know what your thinking ‘how can you have a ‘french’ fragrance?’ I don’t know either, it just has! No sensitivity with this either, even when using a La Roche-Posay moisturiser for super sensitive skin my skin protested, but there was no protesting here. I would highly recommend it for sensitive/dry skin. I use this as a night cream, if my skin is feeling dryer than usual I’ll use this in the morning too.

Klorane Nettle Dry Shampoo £7.50

Recently I changed from washing my hair every night to washing it every 3 days. It had started to get a bit dry and along with using my GHDs on a regular basis it was just getting too tired. I’ve been using Batiste Dry Shampoo Original for the last couple of months, and while it does the job, you do get to the end of the day and desparately feel the need to wash your hair. Klorane seems  much lighter feeling than Batiste and has a very very light fragrance, I manage to get to the end of the day without feeling like I’ve used dry shampoo that morning.

I will definitely be repurchasing this! I also found that they sell this in John Lewis, make this even easier to get a hold of!

Bioderma Hydrabio Light Cream £13

Another Bioderma product that I got is the Hydrabio Light cream. I use this as my morning moisturiser, it works as a great base for my makeup when I’m not using a primer too. Once again this has a lovely light fresh fragrance, it’s absorbed by the skin easily and it’s not greasy, making this great as a base for your make-up/primer. If I was buying this again I would buy the slightly heavier version for winter and this one for the summer months. It’s still hydrating enough, I just prefer a heavier cream in the cold weather.

Boiron Homeoplasmine £8.49

I’ve yet to use this properly, but I’ve used it a couple of times on my lips and it works a treat. It was originally created to help heal the skin conditions that come with having a cold/flu and for skin problems when the temperatures drop. Great for any dry skin, chapped lips and irritations.

Wow, this has turned out to be a very long review, hasn’t it?

Are there any other french products that you use? Any must-haves that you recommend?

parisalmablogheader2.jpg

6 thoughts on “The French Pharmacy

  1. Risa says:

    I just bought Avibon & have been using it as a night time moisturizer, I have already seen a huge change with it, helps clear blemishes & i feel i’m waking up with brighter skin! I also got the embryolisse lait-creme concentrate and LOVE it!!! I’m using it instead of a make up primer, I want to try the homeoplasmine since I’ve heard many make up artists use it as a primer too! Also got the NUXE face, body & hair oil, its my FAVE!!!

Leave a Reply

