Birchbox February 2013

Birchbox February 2013

Birchbox £10 + P&P

birchboxeyelash

Whoops! Forgot the eyelash curler in the main photo!

I’m not sure whether I’ve been blindsided by the Korres product, or the second Birchbox is actually pretty good! This is the second installment of Birchbox since they took over Joliebox. I’m hoping this will mean a larger, better range of products included in the boxes, and so far so good. Februarys theme is London Fashion Week, featuring a range of products to help you get through those busy days rushing from one show to another (I wish!).

Gerda Spillman Foundation

The first product in the box is Gerda Spillmann Bio Fond Cream Foundation. Unfortunately this sample is way to dark for my skin. I always find the foundation samples in beauty boxes a little pointless, I’m sure the colour is only right about 1% of the time. It’s also meant to dry to a powder finish which I really dislike. So all in all not a great product for me.

Korres Guava Shower Gel

I’ve been meaning to try Korres products for a while now, I always gaze at them while shopping in Waitrose, then decide I must drag myself away and carry on with the food shopping! I was surprised at the size of this sample, a generous 50ml. The shower gel smells lovely, smells quite coconut-y to me, even though it’s guava.

Nick Chavez Beverly Hills Plump N’Thick Leave-in Thickening Mist

I’ve used this twice since I got the sample, and this definitely makes my hair feel thicker, although makes it slightly harder to straighten or style. I have quite thick hair anyway so this isn’t something I would have chosen to try, so I’ll probably pass this on to a friend. It smells nice though,very salon-like.

Vichy Thermal Spa Water

I love mineral water sprays, I usually use the Avene equivalent in my nightly skin care routine, so I was extremely happy to see this in the box. I’ve just about run of my MAC Fix+ which I keep in my handbag so this will happily replace that for now. I highly recommend either the Avene or the Vichy spray, their great for using as a toner, setting make-up or just to refresh your skin/make-up throughout the day.

EBOOST Natural Energy Booster (not pictured as I gave this straight to the boyfriend!)

According to EBOOST this is a ‘natural, nutrient-rich, no crash tonic’. Unfortunately for me it contains caffiene, so I passed this on to me boyfriend to have. While I was at work I received a text from him saying, ‘What ever you gave me in that energy drink, please don’t do it again’. I guess it wasn’t that nice…!

Beauty Extra – Eyelash Curlers

This months Beauty Extra was a pair of Birchbox branded eyelash curlers. This was a great addition to the box as I was just thinking earlier in the week about buying another pair to keep in my handbag, so thanks Birchbox!

birchbox february 2013

birchbox february 2013

I really recommend Birchbox, it’s a brilliant way to try products you don’t know about or find new brands to love. For £12.95 (including P+P) a month you receive a box containing 4/6 different products.

parisalmablogheader1.jpg

6 thoughts on “Birchbox February 2013

Leave a Reply

